Provincial Champions Crowned, Manitobans at Nationals and August Events

(Winnipeg, MB Tuesday August 1st / 17) – The competitive schedule for the month of August will begin with the Canada Summer Games taking place August 8th to 11th at the Southwood Golf & Country Club.  This 72-hole event will see boys and girls (18 & under) from all the provinces and territories compete in both team and individual competitions.  The Manitoba Team was determined from the Training Squads that have been working together for the last year and a half to prepare for the event.

Team Manitoba:

Boys Girls
Ryan McMillan (Elmhurst) Rebecca Kuik (Niakwa)
Spencer Norrie (Minnewasta) Camryn Roadley (Southwood)
Zach Wytinck (Golf MB Public Player Club) Bobbi Uhl (Shilo)

Head Coach: Garth Goodbrandson
Team Manager: Brenda Prystayko

The Rural Championship will follow on August 12th & 13th at the Portage Golf Club.  In 2016, a women’s division was added to the event.  Players who are not members of a golf club in the City of Winnipeg are eligible to compete in this 36-hole event for the Junior, Amateur and Senior divisions.

The Junior Bantam Championship will then take place at the Tuxedo Golf Club in Winnipeg August 16th & 17th.  Junior players 14 & under will play 36 holes to determine both a Bantam Male and Female Champion.  Past Champions on the boy’s side include Neel Soni (2016), Bailey Bjornson (2015), Ryan McMillan (2014), Zach Wytinck (2013), John Racciatti Jr. (2012), Brendan Kesterke (2011) & Travis Fredborg (2010).  On the girl’s side, Brynne Pachinski (2016) Reece Carter (2015), Bobbi Uhl (2014), Camryn Roadley (2012 & 2013), Brynn Todd (2011) and Stephanie Lasuik (2010).

The remaining competitive events for the month of August are the Interclub Championships which have teams of four from participating clubs compete against other clubs.  Team scores are calculated based on the best three scores of the four-person teams.  These events are:

  • Interclub A – August 22nd at the Carman Golf & Curling Club
    –  Women’s Teams with a handicap factor of 24.0 and lower
    –  Gross & Net Divisions
  • Provincial Interclub – August 28th at Pinawa Golf & Country Club
    –  Men’s Teams
    –  City & Rural Divisions
  • Interclub B – August 29th at Glendale Golf & Country Club
    –  Women’s Teams with a handicap factor of 24.1 and higher
    –  Gross & Net Divisions
  • Junior Interclub – August 31st at TBD
    –  Junior Teams ages 18 & under as of August 1st
    –  City & Rural Divisions
  • Senior Interclub – September 6th at the Steinbach Fly-In Golf Club
    –  Men’s Teams ages 55 & older as of September 11th
    –  City & Rural Divisions

Rhonda Orr of the Southwood Golf & Country Club won the Women’s Senior Championship title at the St. Boniface Golf Club.  Orr, the 2013, 2014 & 2016 Champion, shot rounds of 75, 85 & 85 (245) to win by 11 strokes over Barbara Maslanko of the Rebel Creek Golf Club in Kitchener, ON.  Orr will be joined by Southwood’s Matty Leung and St Charles’ Kim Ross and compete as Team Manitoba in the Canadian Women’s Senior Championship at Humber Valley Resort in Little Rapids, NL August 22nd to 24th.

Mike Walker of St Boniface repeated as the Men’s Senior Champion at his home course.  A three-day total of 224 (73, 73 & 78) resulted in a three stoke win over MB Golf Hall of Fame Honored member Garth Collins of the Breezy Bend CC.  Walker, Collings and Brent Clague (St Boniface) will compete in the Canadian Men’s Senior Championship as Team Manitoba.  The national championship will be held September 11th to 14th at the Kanawaki Golf Club in Montreal, QC.

Pine Ridge’s Travis Fredborg won his first men’s amateur championship at Selkirk and Elmhurst Golf & Country Clubs.  Fredborg shot rounds of 66, 73, 74 & 67 for a four-day total of 280 (-4) to win the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur Championship by three strokes over 2015 & 2016 Champion Devon Schade of Elmhurst.

Fredborg and Schade will be joined by Eric Johnson of the Breezy Bend CC to compete as Team Manitoba in the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship being held August 7th to 10th at Toronto Golf Club & Islington Golf Club in Toronto, ON.

The Junior Women’s Championship took place at the Rossmere Golf & Country Club July 11th to 13th. Camryn Roadley won her first title with a three-day total of 232 (80, 74 & 78) for a 5-stroke victory over Shilo’s Bobbi Uhl.

Team Manitoba will be made up of Roadley, Uhl and Kate Gregoire (Quarry Oaks) and will compete at the Canadian Junior Girls Championship August 1st to 4th at the Camelot Golf & Country Club in Cumberland, ON.

Ryan McMillan won his first Junior Men’s Championship with an impressive 12 stroke victory at the Rossmere Golf & Country Club, July 10th to 13th.  McMillan fired a four-round total of 278 (70, 69, 68 & 71) to capture the title. Zach Wytinck, the 2016 Junior Men’s Champion, finished runner up with a four-round total of 290 (69, 76, 71 & 74).

McMillan will be joined by St Charles’ Anthony Leicht and Elmhurst’s Wesley Hoydalo and compete as Team Manitoba at the Canadian Junior Boys Championship July 31st to August 3rd at the Cataraqui Golf & Country Club in Kingston, ON.

On the national scene, at the Canadian Women’s Amateur, the Manitoba Team of Marissa Naylor, Charmaine Mackid and Bri-ann Tokariwski finished in 5th place in the Interprovincial Team Matches.

For complete results of all championships and past champions, please visit the Golf Manitoba website at www.golfmanitoba.mb.ca

To register for Golf Manitoba events, please visit our website and click on Tournament Registration.  A Master Card or Visa will be required to register on-line.  Competitors can also mail in entries or drop them off at the Golf Manitoba office (145 Pacific Ave).

About Golf Manitoba:  Golf Manitoba is the governing body for golf in the province of Manitoba and North West Ontario. Its mission is to develop, promote, govern and service the game of golf in Manitoba and North West Ontario for the benefit of all participants.  To learn more about sponsorship opportunities or Golf Manitoba, visit www.golfmanitoba.mb.ca.  Follow Golf Manitoba on Twitter @golf_manitoba.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Dave Comaskey
Executive Director
Golf Manitoba