Champions Determined Early in the Season

(Winnipeg, MB Tuesday, June 13 / 17) – The 2017 competitive season is well under way with champions determined in the Men’s, Women’s and Senior Men’s Match Play Championships.

The qualifying for the Match Play Championships took place May 27th & 28th at the Minnewasta Golf & Country Club in Morden.  In the Amateur Men’s Division, Pine Ridge’s Travis Fredborg was the medalist in a field of 51 competitors with a 36-hole score of 143 (-1).  Southwood’s Veronica Vetesnik was the medalist in the Women’s Division with a score of 148 (+2) and Breezy Bend’s Garth Collings was the low senior male with a score of 149 (+5).

The Men’s & Women’s Championship matches were contested over 36 holes on June 10 and the Senior Men’s over 18 holes on June 8 at the Niakwa Country Club.

Jenna Roadley of the Southwood Golf & Country Club won the Women’s Match Play Championship for the second year in a row with a 3 & 2 victory over Rebecca Kuik of the Niakwa Country Club.

On the men’s side, first time winner Colwyn Abgrall of the Golf Manitoba Public Player Club defeated Jay Doyle of the Niakwa Country Club with a 4 & 2 victory.

The Senior Men’s Match Play Championship was won by Garth Collings of the Breezy Bend Country Club.  He defeated Alan Ediger of the St. Boniface Golf Club 5 & 4.

For complete results of all championships, please visit the Golf Manitoba website at www.golfmanitoba.mb.ca.

The Golf Manitoba championship schedule continues this month with the Women’s Alternate Shot Championship benefitting Golf Fore the Cure being conducted at the Pine Ridge Golf Club on Monday June 19th.  The entry deadline for this event is June 13th.

Golf Fore the Cure is a nationally driven program through Golf Canada that raises funds for breast cancer research.  As a part of the Alternate Shot Championship, funds will be collected through pledges, fees for entering holes contests and a 50/50 contest.  Golf Manitoba is a proud supporter of this event with funds raised going to the Canadian Cancer Society – Manitoba Branch.

Also in June will be the qualifying for the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur Championship.  The two qualifiers will take place at the Warren Golf & Country Club (June 22nd) and the Shilo Country Club (June 24th).  The number of spots available for the provincial amateur championship will be based on the field size (120 players) minus the number of exempt players who accept their spot in this year’s event.

The entry deadline for this event is Monday, June 19th.

Closing out the month of June will be the Women’s City & District Championship at the Larters @ St Andrews Golf & Country Club, June 24th & 25th (entry deadline: June 19th).   Recent past champions of this event include Bri-ann Tokariwski (2014 & 2016), Jenna Roadley (2015), Mindy Lichtman (2011 & 2013), Faye Zachedniak (2012), Kathryn MacKenzie (2009 & 2010) and Jill Hardy (2007 & 2008).

To register for Golf Manitoba events, please visit our website (www.golfmanitoba.mb.ca) and click on Tournament Registration.  A Master Card or Visa will be required to register on-line.  Competitors can also mail in entries or drop them off at the Golf Manitoba office (145 Pacific Ave).

About Golf Manitoba:  Golf Manitoba is the governing body for golf in the province of Manitoba and North West Ontario. Its mission is to develop, promote, govern and service the game of golf in Manitoba and North West Ontario for the benefit of all participants.  To learn more about sponsorship opportunities or Golf Manitoba, visit www.golfmanitoba.mb.ca.  Follow Golf Manitoba on Twitter @golf_manitoba.

– 30 –

For more information contact:
Dave Comaske
Executive Director
Golf Manitoba