Camryn Roadley & Todd Fanning Win Golf Manitoba Golfers of the Year and Irv Benne Honoured as Distinguished Service Award Recipient

(Winnipeg, MB Monday, October 23rd / 17) – Southwood Golf & Country Club’s Camryn Roadley and Niakwa Country Club’s Todd Fanning were awarded the Golf Manitoba Female and Male Golfer of the Year Awards at Golf Manitoba’s Annual Awards Reception at the Bel Acres Golf & Country Club.

Camryn Roadley, the inaugural Female Golfer of the Year recipient in 2015, won the Manitoba Junior Women’s Championship and was a member of the provincial team who finished fifth at nationals.  Individually at the national Junior Championship, she finished 37th.  She was third in the Women’s Match Play Qualifier (lost in quarter-final match), 15th in Manitoba Women’s Amateur Championship and was a member of Team Manitoba for the Canada Summer Games where the team finished fourth and she finished 10th individually.  As a member of the North Dakota State University Golf Team, Camryn has had a number of top 25 finishes in the fall season.

The other finalists for this premier award for amateur golf in Manitoba and North West Ontario were Marissa Naylor of Pine Ridge, 2016 Female Golfer of the Year Rhonda Orr also of Southwood and Elmhurst’s Bri-ann Tokariwski.  Three other players earned honourable mentions for their 2017 accomplishments: Rebecca Kuik of Niakwa, Charmaine Mackid of Breezy Bend and Bobbi Uhl of the Shilo Country Club.

Todd Fanning won the Manitoba Mid-Amateur (25+) & Mid-Masters (40+) Championships and also won the Canadian Mid-Amateur & Mid-Masters Championships.  This is the first individual national championship win by a Manitoban since 2003 when Garth Collings won the Canadian Mid-Amateur.  He was also a member of the Manitoba Team that finished fourth in the team competition at the Canadian Mid-Amateur.  This is Fanning’s fifth Golfer of the Year award.  He also received the recognition in 1984, 1985, 1986 and 1991.

Three other players were finalists:  Travis Fredborg of Pine Ridge, Justin McDonald of Breezy Bend and Ryan McMillan of Elmhurst. Wesley Hoydalo (Selkirk) and Devon Schade (Elmhurst) received an honorable mention for their 2017 accomplishments.

The Golf Manitoba Amateur Golfer of the Year Award dates back to 1975, and was presented for the 43rd time on October 23rd.

Golf Manitoba is the governing body for golf in the province of Manitoba and North West Ontario. Its mission is to develop, promote, govern and service the game of golf in Manitoba and North West Ontario for the benefit of all participants.  To learn more about Golf Manitoba or programs and services available to amateur golfers, visit www.golfmanitoba.mb.ca.  Follow Golf Manitoba on twitter @golf_manitoba.


Dave Comaskey
Executive Director<
Golf Manitoba Inc.
Office: (204) 925-5729
Cell: (204) 291-8032